Neeraj Chopra to Mirabai Chanu: Complete List of Indian Athletes for Commonwealth Games 2022

Author: Yuvi June 21, 2022 Neeraj Chopra to Mirabai Chanu: Complete List of Indian Athletes for Commonwealth Games 2022

The Commonwealth Games 2022 will begin in Birmingham from 28 July, with the Games ending on 8 August. India finished third behind the leaders of Australia and England in the medal tally at the Commonwealth Games 2018 with 26 gold, 20 silver and 20 bronze.

With the Birmingham Games due from 28 July, the qualification and team selection process is still ongoing. Here is the list of Indian sportspersons who have qualified for the 2022 Commonwealth Games so far…


India named a 37-member athletics team comprising Neeraj Chopra, Dutee Chand and Hima Das for the Birmingham Commonwealth Games.

Avinash Sable – Men’s 3000m steeplechase

Nitender Rawat – Men’s Marathon

M Sreeshankar – Men’s long jump

Mohammad Anees Yahia – Men’s long jump

Abdullah Abubakar – Men’s triple jump

Praveen Chitravel – Men’s triple jump

Aldhos Paul – Men’s triple jump

Tajinderpal Singh Toor – Men’s Shot Put

Neeraj Chopra – Men’s javelin throw

DP Manu – Men’s Javelin Throw

Rohit Yadav – Men’s javelin throw

Sandeep Kumar – Men’s 10km race walk

Amit Khatri – Men’s 10km Race Walk

Amoz Jacob – Men’s 4x400m relay

Noah Serene Tom – Men’s 4x400m relay

Arokia Rajeev – Men’s 4x400m relay

Mohammad Ajmal – Men’s 4x400m relay

Naganathan Pandy – Men’s 4x400m relay

Rajesh Ramesh – Men’s 4x400m relay

Dhanalakshmi Sekar – Women’s 100m and 4x100m relay

Jyoti Yaraji – Women’s 100m hurdles

Aishwarya B – Women’s long jump and triple jump

Ansie Sojen – Women’s long jump

Manpreet Kaur – Women’s Shot Put

Navjeet Kaur Dhillon – Women’s Discus Throw

Seema Punia – Women’s Discus Throw

Annu Rani – Female Javelin Thrower

Shilpa Rani – Female Javelin Thrower

Manju Bala Singh – Women’s Hammer Throw

Sarita Romit Singh – Women’s Hammer Throw

Bhawna Jat – Women’s 10km Race Walk

Priyanka Goswami – Women’s 10km Run Walk

Hima Das – Women’s 4x100m relay

Dutee Chand – Women’s 4x100m relay

Sarbani Nanda – Women’s 4x100m relay

MV Jilana – Women’s 4x100m relay

NS Simi – Women’s 4x100m relay

Tough conditions with the weather, but happy to have my first win of the season here in Cuortane. I am feeling well and looking forward to starting my Diamond League season on the 30th at @BAUHAUSGALAN.
Thanks for all the messages and support. – neeraj chopra (@neeraj_chopra1) June 19, 2022


PV Sindhu (Female)

Akash Kashyap (Female)

Treesa Jolly (Female)

Gayatri Gopichand (Female)

Ashwini Ponnappa (Female)

Lakshya Sen (Male)

Kidambi Srikanth (Male)

Satwiksairaj Rankireddy (Male)

Chirag Shetty (Male)

B Sumeeth Reddy (Male)


Commonwealth Games medalists Amit Panghal and Mohammad Hussamuddin made it to Birmingham 2022, along with five-time Asian medalist Shiv Thapa.

Amit Panghal – Men’s 51kg

Mohammad Husamuddin – Men’s 57kg

Shiv Thapa – Men’s 63.5kg

Rohit Tokas – Men’s 67kg

Sumit Kundu – Men’s 75kg

Ashish Chowdhary – Men’s 80kg

Sanjeet – Men’s 92kg

Sagar – Men’s 92+kg

Neetu – Women’s 48kg

Nikhat Zareen – Women’s 50kg

Jasmine – Women’s 60kg

Lovlina Borgohain – Women’s 70kg


Birmingham 2022 will see cricket’s second appearance at the CWG event. The first, in Kuala Lumpur 1998, was a men’s 50-over tournament, but in Birmingham 2022, a women’s T20I format will be played.

The hosts England, Australia, New Zealand, India, Pakistan, South Africa, Barbados and Sri Lanka will be involved in an eight-team match at the Commonwealth Games 2022. The Indian cricket team is one of the five teams that qualified for the Commonwealth Games 2022, courtesy their ICC WT20I rankings.


Both the Indian men’s and women’s hockey teams have already made it to the Commonwealth Games 2022 based on their FIH rankings. The men’s and women’s hockey competitions will be 10-team affairs.

Indian women won CWG hockey gold in 2002, but men are still looking for their first, with two silver medals (2010 and 2014) being their best performances to date.

table tennis

The Indian table tennis squad for Birmingham 2022 consists of eight players, four men and four women. The team was selected after a weeklong national camp in late May.

Achanta Sharath Kamal (Male)

Sathiyan Gyanasekaran (Male)

Sanil Shetty (Male)

Harmeet Desai (Male)

Manika Batra (Female)

Diya Chitale (Female)

Sreeja Akula (Female)

Reeth Rishi (Female)

lifting weights

Led by Tokyo Olympic silver medalist and reigning Commonwealth champion Mirabai Chanu, India’s 12-member strong weightlifting contingent for the Commonwealth Games 2022 was the first to be finalised.

Mirabai Chanu – Women’s 49kg

Bindyarani Devi – Women’s 55kg

Poppy Hazarika – Women’s 59kg

Usha Kumara – Women’s 87kg

Poornima Pandey – Female + 87 kg

Sanket Mahadev – Men’s 55kg

Chanambam Rishikant Singh – Men’s 55kg

Jeremy Lalrinnunga – Men’s 67kg

Achinta Shuli – Men’s 73kg

Ajay Singh – Men’s 81kg

Vikas Thakur – Men’s 96kg

Ragala Venkat Rahul – Men’s 96kg


The following wrestlers made it to the Indian team by winning their respective categories in the selection trials.

Pooja Gehlot – Women’s 50kg

Vinesh Phogat – Women’s 53kg

Anshu Malik – Women’s 57kg

Sakshi Malik – Women’s 62kg

Divya Kakran – Women’s 68kg

Pooja Sihag – Women’s 76kg

Ravi Kumar Dahiya – Men’s 57kg

Bajrang Punia – Men’s 65kg

Naveen – Men’s 74kg

Deepak Punia – Men’s 86kg

Deepak – Men’s 97kg

Mohit Grewal – Men’s 125kg

Author: Yuvi

My name is Yuvi, I work as Sub Editor at

21 June, 2022, 8:55 am

News Cinema on twitter News Cinema on facebook share newscinema latest news on whatsapp

Tuesday, 21st June 2022

Latest Web Stories

More Stories